Monday, August 14th 2016

During Theatre class, Mrs. Jackson asked us to do a survey about our personal contexts in some aspects. Above shows about my own personal contexts. The task given is to reflect on how we feel about our own personal contexts can help us to inspire the theater work that we will produce.

So firstly, in the aspect of school, I’ve been into two types of school in Malaysia such as daily school and boarding school. Meanwhile in Sri Lanka, I go to an international school where there are varieties of people from worldwide. Thus, what I can relate to my theatre work is that it somehow improves my understanding and how I accept other people’s ideas and perspective about something. Like in a group work, of course, there will be different kinds of ideas and sometimes it differs from your own but I learnt that it will be much better if we can combine those ideas and make an even more greater in creating a piece of theatre. Also, this aspect helps me to think widely and not just focusing on the things that I already know.

Secondly, in the aspect of society, we know that we can never stop people from judging us for the things that we do. So, what inspires me in this aspect for my working in theater is that we should not be scared to express our ideas and thoughts about things. It doesn’t matter if they accept it or not, well at least you have the effort to pour out the things that is in your head to make the work better.

I also find that the aspect of location attracts me in my works for theater. Basically I have lived in the city of Malaysia which is Kuala Lumpur, it’s kind of a busy city and the environment is totally different from Sri Lanka. So it is something new for me to experience like I have to live and survive in the country that I am not used to. What I get from this, it actually encourage me to try out new skills or something different in theater that I never get the chance to explore. Travelling to other countries also relates to the aspect of culture in my personal contexts whereas we can learn their cultures as well. It is an advantage for me because I think I can create something that this not cliche which is commonly used in my country.

Lastly, I wrote dancing in the interest section where I think when you can dance it’s like a profit for you as a performer so that it won’t be that hard for you to perform yourself on the stage if your work has dancing scene.

That’s what I can reflect from my personal contexts.